Truth!

On Super Bowl Sunday I learned the truth about something that happened twenty-three years ago.

Back then a decision was made without my knowledge or input and which affected my life in, what I have supposed to be, a negative way.  Of course, I’ll never know for sure that there might have been an easier and more satisfying path than the one I am on.  But I think it was a good possibility.

As stories were being told around the dinner table before the football game started, there was one story I had never heard before.  I thought I had heard all the stories, the funny ones, the embarrassing ones, the somewhat scary ones.  But this one was new to me.

As soon as the story was told, I knew in my heart that I was hearing the reason for why that decision was made twenty-three years ago.  It made more sense than anything else I had been told prior to this moment.

Actually, it makes “that decision” seem quite sensible on some level.

If I had been told at the time it happened, I like to think I would have been understanding.  I usually am supportive when people tell me their troubles.

I still would have disagreed about the decision that was made as a result.  But it seems to me from this vantage point that perhaps a compromise could have been reached.  Maybe it didn’t have to be a jump off the cliff kind of decision.  Maybe clearer minds might have prevailed.

Of course we always did fly by the seat of our pants, due to lacking any kind of problem-solving skills and emotional maturity.

I’ve always been a big fan of truth.  But I don’t always have the truth to work with, which really burns my butt sometimes.

Now that this thing was told, and now that I know what this thing was and the whole world failed to explode, I have to wonder if we have gotten onto a new path.  It seems like maybe we have.  This feels new on a very deep level.

I have not actually tried to talk about it since the telling of the story.  People tell me things when they want to tell me, not when I want to hear it.  I was raised by poor communicators and I have collected poor communicators for much of my adult life, which makes sense.  I plan to just wait and see.

It would be nice if it turns out that the truth really does set you free.

3 Comments

Filed under anxiety, boundaries, decision making, decisions, dysfunction, emotional health, family, getting along, history, honesty, human nature, journey, planning, progress, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Truth!

  1. Hmmmm, very thought-provoking. Since you have chosen to keep the actual story to yourself, I am sent down a path of dates and ages and known (and guessed-at) life events. I land in the point where we lost touch all those years ago. Whatever that decision was, it must have been huge, and seems to have felt life-shattering at the time. Now that you know the story, I hope that you do find more healing. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I hate being mysterious, but that’s the way it’s got to be in this instance. It was a very big deal to me at the time and I still feel that my life was derailed because of this decision. The timing was just very bad. I never knew how to get myself back on track after that. It would have helped tremendously to have all the facts way back then. Good communication in relationships is so very important.

      Like

Leave a Reply

