Now, THIS Bothers Me

After I quit my terrible job last year, we cut back on the things we were able to cut back on. Most of our bills are set in stone, but a few we could do something about.

Our cell phone plan was one of those. We went down to one cell phone and switched to a pre-paid plan. This freed up about $80 a month. Yippee.

So today was the thirteenth time I have gone in to the Verizon store and paid for the next month of service. I hate going there. It is usually chaos. There is a service counter but that is not where you start. You are supposed to log in on one of the laptops at one of three kiosks. Except that they usually don’t work. And usually a representative will snag you if they think you are the next person to wait on. Of course, every customer thinks they are next in “line”. And then, while you have their attention, someone else will interrupt them or they will have to find a tablet to work on and maybe that won’t work, and they ask you for your number and your plan and I never know what the name of my plan is so I tell them what I usually pay and they take my word for it. I guess.

And my own personal distraction in there is I can tell which employees are the slackers and which ones pick up the slack. And the slackers have a much easier shift than the picker-uppers. They only worry about where their take-out lunch is coming from and when they can have it and who is going to get it for them and will they have to pay that person today or not because they forgot to bring cash.

Today, though. Today’s visit was just weird.

I was greeted at the door by an armed guard. Since he was greeting me, at first I thought he was an associate. But he was wearing all black, had on a bullet-proof vest and was carrying a pistol in a holster. No name tag and no Verizon logo. It’s kind of funny that my mind wanted to turn him into a Verizon employee rather than the armed guard that my eyes were seeing.

I was in fact the only customer today, probably because it is raining. So, I got waited on right away. I kept staring at the armed guard trying to get him to compute. He had to be bored. He was very young and very nice-looking. I kept staring at him to make sure I was really seeing what I was seeing.

Finally I asked my associate, “Why is there an armed guard in the store?” He finished typing and said, “Well, there was ‘an incident’ at a store in Rochester so now all the Western New York stores have armed guards.”

Well, that was quite a leap the corporate leaders made, isn’t it? One incident in one store and the only solution they can think of is–armed guards in every store in the district. My suggestion would be to use that money to hire a couple more associates and reorganize the store so it is orderly and people will be more satisfied with the service they receive. Maybe that will cut down on “incidents”.

I’d like to know what the incident was, though. Was it drug-related like everything seems to be now? Was somebody just pissed off? How would shooting a gun in a store be the solution to any of it? I know I would hate to be inside my Verizon store during an incident in which an armed guard would be the one we would turn to for a solution. I’m a redhead. I’d probably be the one they would grab for a hostage.

This bothered me so much I wanted to tell somebody about it. But I don’t know anybody who would think this is as a big a deal as I do. Most of my relatives are strongly pro-NRA. The county I live in is the most conservative county in all of New York state. I’m guessing most people I know would “feel safer” if there were armed guards EVERYWHERE. The others would probably just tune it out. It’s not like there is anything that can be done about it by litte ol’ me and you.

If this is what life turned into while I was busy for twelve years with the terrible job…. it makes me more and more certain that I just need to be doing my own thing away from the mainstream. The mainstream seems to have become just a little insane.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Now, THIS Bothers Me

  1. Gloria

    Sad. I googled incident at Verizon store in Rochester NY (mainly because I have 3 cousins there). It seems there were 3 stores robbed. Yes, I believe the world (people’s attitude, entitlement, manners) changed a whole bunch while you (and I) were in our rotten jobs for the last 12 years. I still have no desire to return to the work world. In fact, thinking about it gives me extreme stress / panic. I don’t think armed guards make me feel safer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did not feel safer at all. My first thought was, what if there is trouble? Someone will be aiming a gun at… customers?? How horrible. It really kind of ruined my afternoon. Even our banks don’t have armed guards here. We’ve had several robberies too, but they almost always catch them and get the money back. Rochester is far larger than my town and I wouldn’t necessarily think the same procedures would work there as here. I just don’t think we should give up peaceful means so readily. And that seems to be what is happening.

    Like

  3. What a way to improve customer service. Phew! No, I am totally with you on this one. I’m afraid the US has gotten way too far down the pro-guns end of the spectrum. My own family is a bit split on this, where I think most if not all of us are not opposed (some actively in favor) of hunting (for food), while others would go so far as to actually carry a handgun. Which makes me very very sad indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most people here and most people I know are very extreme on 2nd amendment issues. I don’t ever talk about it as I know it will lead to the other person freaking out on me. There is no reasoning with anyone about it. On a more pleasant note, though, Verizon seems to have given up on the armed guard in my local store!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ” They only worry about where their take-out lunch is coming from and when they can have it and who is going to get it for them and will they have to pay that person today or not because they forgot to bring cash.”

    Bang on. And hilarious.

    Guns though. I can see how they might make the holder FEEL safer but can’t see how they make anything ACTUALLY safer. They freak me out.

    In October, there was a shooting in Ottawa at the House of Commons. People were astonished at the lack of armed guards at the Canadian seat of government. I was proud of that fact and I worry that just one messed up, violent person could change that policy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, it would be terrible if Canada headed off in the direction the U.S. has taken. I think Americans have completely lost their minds. Except me, of course, haha! Holding a gun gives you a feeling of power. But in an actual situation, there are no guarantees. I wish more people would acknowledge that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

